My Celebrity Life

What prize do the Great British Bake Off winners get?

My Celebrity Life –
GBBO judges Prue, Paul, Matt and Noel (Picture: Mark Bourdillon/Channel 4)

It’s that time again! Great British Bake Off is nearly ready to crown a new winner who’ll join the likes of Nadiya Hussain and Candice Brown.

Contestants have been put through their paces as usual, having to whisk, knead, steam, and sauté to prove they are the Crème de la Crème.

After a few Hollywood handshakes and some Star Baker wins, a cash prize or spin-off show would be the icing on the cake.

So, what will the winner of the Great British Bake Off 2021 receive?

What does the Great British Bake Off winner get?

After competing to get a post among the 12 Bake Off contestants, and spending nine weeks sweating it out in the tent of technicals, the best baker will be announced and awarded with a cake stand and some flowers.

That’s it.

There is no big prize fund for the winner, no alluring £100,000 to help them set up the bakery of their dreams, just the joy of baking and winning the series.

For the bakers who are ultimately crowned the winner of the series, what they lack in prizes from the show itself they make up from the prizes they gain in exposure.

The first winner of The Great British Bake Off was Edd Kimber, who was exposed to an audience of nearly three million in the first series on BBC.

Edd went to work at Raymond Blanc’s famous pastry kitchen after winning the first Bake Off series.

In the early series of the show, there wasn’t much laid out for the winners of the show – no automatic book signing or TV gigs lined up.

Edd Kimber’s debut book made him £150,000, and his further two publications earned £100,000 on top of that, although the baker only took a £37,500 cut. He now has his own YouTube channel.

My Celebrity Life –
Nadiya Hussain found fame after winning the show (Picture: BBC )

The most successful winner of the series is undoubtedly Nadiya Hussain who came away with the series six title.

Since Nadiya won in 2015 she has become a global sensation: she has written a bestselling cookery book, she has columns in national magazines and newspapers and she is a frequent presenter on Loose Women.

She was even selected to bake Queen Elizabeth’s birthday cake when the monarch turned 90.

Underdog David Artherton, who recently bought his first home, was crowned the winner of series 10.

While last year’s winner, 20-year-old University of Edinburgh student Peter Sawkins, was the show’s youngest ever victor.

My Celebrity Life –
2019 winner David Atherton (Picture: Mark Bourdillon)

Who are the past winners of the Great British Bake Off?

Winning the Great British Bake Off is an honour and only a handful have received the title.

The past winners include:

  • Edd Kimber – 2010
  • Joanne Wheatley – 2011
  • John Whaite – 2012
  • Frances Quinn – 2013
  • Nancy Birthwhistle -2014
  • Nadiya Hussain – 2015
  • Candice Brown – 2016
  • Sophie Faldo – 2017
  • Rahul Mandal – 2018
  • David Atherton – 2019
  • Peter Sawkins – 2020

The Great British Bake Off continues Tuesdays on Channel 4 at 8pm.

Related posts

1000lb Sisters star Tammy Slaton gains 15lbs after leaving food addiction rehab: ‘I hate it’

John Turner

The Walking Dead finally reveals cause of zombie apocalypse in World Beyond post-credit scene

John Turner

I’m A Celebrity 2021: Dame Arlene Phillips becomes first star eliminated from series as final looms

John Turner
%d bloggers like this: