My Celebrity Life

Wheel Of Time: How many books are in the series and who is the author?

My Celebrity Life –
The group set off on a dangerous adventure (Picture: Amazon/Planet Photos)

The release date of The Wheel of Time on Amazon Prime Video has arrived, with the TV series promising an adventure on a scale to rival Game of Thrones.

Starring Rosamund Pike as the powerful and mysterious Moiraine, the show is based on a series of books first published over 30 years ago and beloved by fans across the globe.

While some people who watch the drama may already be familiar with the story, others will be complete newcomers to the intricate tale.

The series will also introduce viewers to a range of up-and-coming actors, as well as starring several established actors in the eight episodes.

So how many books are in the series, who wrote them and what is The Wheel of Time about?

How many books are in the series?

There are 14 books in total in The Wheel of Time series, as well as a prequel novel and two companion books.

My Celebrity Life –
Moiraine has an important mission she needs to accomplish (Picture: Amazon Prime Video)

The first book in the series, titled The Eye of the World, came out in 1990, six years after the author first started writing it.

The final book in the series, A Memory of Light, came out in 2013.

Who is the author?

The Wheel of Time books were created by American author Robert Jordan.

In addition to the fantasy series, he also penned some of the original novels on Conan the Barbarian, in addition to publishing works in other genres, including a western, dance criticism and historical fiction, under pseudonyms.

In 2006, Robert announced that he had been diagnosed with a disorder called cardiac amyloidosis, which affects the heart.

The author died while he was working on what was meant to be the final volume of the series.

After his death, fantasy writer Brandon Sanderson wrote the final few books of The Wheel of Time using notes left by Robert and publishing the story in three more volumes, rather than just one.

Who is in the cast of the TV series?

Gone Girl star Rosamund portrays Moiraine in The Wheel of Time, a member of an organisation called the Aes Sedai with the ability to use magic, called the One Power.

Criminal Minds actor Daniel Henney stars as al’Lan Mandragoran, Moiraine’s protector, as the pair recruit five young people on their travels.

They are Josha Stradowski, who plays Rand, Madeleine Madden, who plays Egwene, Marcus Rutherford, who portrays Perrin, Barney Harris, who depicts Mat and Zöe Robins, who plays Nynaeve.

Other actors appearing in the show include Game of Thrones star Michael McEhatton, Oscar nominee Sophie Okonedo and Money Heist actor Álvaro Morte.

What is it about?

As a member of the Aes Sedai, Moiraine heard a prophecy about an individual called the ‘Dragon Reborn’, who is believed will either have the power to save the world or destroy it.

Moiraine believes that a group of young people from a historic village called the Two Rivers could count the Dragon Reborn among them.

After meeting these said individuals, Moiraine takes them on a journey to the White Tower, the headquarters of the Aes Sedai.

Her aim is to find out which of them is the Dragon Reborn so that they can defeat the powers of Dark One once and for all.

The first three episodes of The Wheel of Time premiere on Friday November 19 on Amazon Prime Video.


Credit: Original article published here.

Related posts

Why was Richard Bacon sacked from Blue Peter?

John Turner

I’m A Celebrity 2021: Simon Gregson sneaks contraband into camp as David Ginola catches him out

John Turner

I’m A Celebrity 2021: Danny Miller is the ultimate fanboy as he sleeps with David Ginola

John Turner
%d bloggers like this: